2022 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award Shortlist Announced

27 September 2022 | Media Release

27 September 2022

Waverley Council is delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2022 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award.

The shortlist was announced by Waverley Council this evening at an event hosted by media personality Mikey Robins and featuring special guest, 2021 Nib People’s Choice Prize winner, Tim Olsen, at the newly restored Bondi Pavilion, now reopened to the public.

Shortlisted authors were selected by the Award’s expert judging panel from a record 174 nominations received from across the country. Each has been awarded with the Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize ($1,000) and are finalists for the Nib People’s Choice Prize ($2,500) and the Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award ($20,000).

The 2022 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award shortlist is as follows:

  • Two Afternoons In The Kabul Stadium by Tim Bonyhady (Text Publishing)
  • Signs and Wonders by Delia Falconer (Scribner Australia)
  • The Asparagus Wars by Carol Major (ES Press)
  • Mafioso by Colin McLaren (Hachette Australia)
  • Mortals by Rachel E. Menzies and Ross G. Menzies (Allen & Unwin)
  • Here Goes Nothing by Steve Toltz (Penguin Random House)

The Nib Award is Waverley Council’s annual celebration of excellence in research and writing and celebrates its 21st anniversary this year with a total prize offering of $28,500.

It remains Australia’s only major literary award of its kind presented by a local council. Judging criteria includes high literary merit, quality of research, readability and value to the community.

Head judge Jamie Grant said the titles on this year’s shortlist were chosen from a record-breaking number of nominations which ranged as widely in style and technique as they did in geographical setting, touching on places as diverse as Afghanistan, Sicily, France and an imagined future.

“Guided by the Nib Award specific criteria the judging process this year was harmonious and unanimous,” Grant said.

Mayor of Waverley, Paula Masselos said the Nib was really something to be celebrated and offers recognition of the importance of our unique Australian perspective through well-researched narratives that respect the needs of the reader.

“It also offers some reward for the long, lonely hours writers spend researching their work – most often at their own great expense,” Mayor Masselos said.

“Being the only literary award of its kind presented by a local government authority, the Nib is a true project of the people.

“It highlights extraordinary authors, fascinating stories and fresh ideas, bringing quality literature to Waverley and inspiring the wealth of creative talent in our community.”

The People’s Choice Prize polling campaign is a fun way to lend your support to your favourite finalist, genre or author, helping them receive the reward and recognition they deserve. Voters can also win themselves a prize pack including a set of shortlisted books and a $100 voucher for Nib Community Partner Gertrude & Alice Bookstore café.

To vote, visit haveyoursay.waverley.nsw.gov.au/nib-peoples-choice

The winners of the Nib People’s Prize and Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award will be announced on 16 November 2022 at Bondi Pavilion Theatre.


The Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award is presented annually by Waverley Council with the generous support of Principal Sponsors Mark and Evette Moran, and the ongoing commitment and assistance of our community partner Gertrude and Alice Bookshop and Café.

Media Enquiries: media@waverley.nsw.gov.au or 0416 075 532.

Nib Award inquiries (excluding media): nibaward@waverley.nsw.gov.au