2022 Waverley Youth Art Prize winners announced

Waverley Council has announced the winners of the 2022 Waverley Youth Art Prize which this year saw young artists respond to the theme Science, Space and Future Stories.

The Waverley Youth Art Prize encourages creativity in young artists from across Sydney and is open to people ages 9-18 who live, study, work in or visit Waverley. Winners receive art packs and vouchers to attend classes at local institutions such as the National Art School.

All artworks are exhibited so that future artists can experience the joy of exhibiting and see an audience appreciate their work. The 2022 Waverley Youth Art Prize exhibition is now open at the Waverley Library Galleries until 27 June.

All winners of the 2022 Waverley Youth Art Prize, further images available on request.

Mayor of Waverley, Paula Masselos said the Waverley Youth Art Prize is a testament to the incredible creativity in Waverley.

“This year’s entrants responded beautifully to the theme which holds such wonderful hope for the future, while tapping into an incredible array of pop culture and science fiction icons,” Mayor Masselos said.

“I want to commend our young entrants, and hope that like many famous artists, they might look back on the Waverley Youth Art Prize and know that this is where their artistic journey began.”

The 2022 Waverley Youth Art Prize winners are:

  • Mayor’s Prize : Charlotte Juracich – Resistance
  • Mayor’s Prize – Highly Commended  : Kathryn Jordan – United Nations in Space
  • Senior – First Place : Charlotte Juracich – Resistance
  • Senior – Second Place  : Alex O’Gorman – A Different Lens
  • Senior – Third Place : Niamh Bookallil – Broken Standards
  • Senior – Highly Commended  : Charlotte Laundy – The Multifaceted Nature of Human Identity
  • Intermediate – First Place : Celeste Ferreira – Celestial Gaze
  • Intermediate – Second Place : Ella Zhang – Spacing Out
  • Intermediate – Third Place : Eloise Toner – In-Between the Dreams
  • Intermediate – Highly Commended : Lauren Nolan – The beginning of the End
  • Junior – First Place : Jiayi Wu – The Astronaut and Space
  • Junior – Second Place : Eric Hess – Hidden in plain sight
  • Junior – Third Place : Emily Ma – Best Wishes
  • Junior – Highly Commended : Sofia Amato – Harmony
  • Best Interpretation of the Theme : Jaylan Yang – Uncharted Brilliance
  • Best 3-Dimensional artwork : Griffin Hincksman – Alien Approach
  • Best New Media artwork : Sarah Barber – Sarah
  • Packing Room Prize (Staff pick) : Jiayi Wu – The Astronaut and Space

“I would like to acknowledge our incredible judges, Laura Jade, Tully Arnot and Genevieve Felix Reynolds who have all been part of the Waverley Artist Studios program and use science and speculation as driving forces in their practices,” Mayor Masselos said.

“I also want to give a big shout out to our entrants’ parents, caregivers and teachers. We know you are the ones driving the kids to art classes, making sure the paint box is stocked and providing inspiration in the classroom whenever you can.”


Media Officer
Tel: 0416 075 532
Email: media@waverley.nsw.gov.au