2019 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award longlist announced

14 August 2019

Waverley Council is thrilled to announce the longlist for the 2019 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award celebrating excellence in research and writing in Australia.

The Nib is a national literary award and the only one of its type presented by a local council. The awards are judged on the quality of research, literary merit, readability and value to the community.

The shortlist will be announced on 26 August, with the winners announced on 14 November at a breakfast event hosted by author, broadcaster and literary champion, Richard Glover.

Waverley Mayor, Cr John Wakefield, said since its inception in 2002, the Nib has become one of the Council’s most valued cultural programs.  “The long-listed titles spanned a diverse range of meticulously-researched topics including Neil Armstrong’s first steps on the moon to the story of Alice Anderson who established Australia’s first motor service run entirely by women.

“The Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award is Waverley Council’s annual celebration of truly the best in Australian research and writing,” Mayor Wakefield said.

“Local author Hamish McDonald is among those who made the 2019 long list, as well as Andrew Tink, winner of the The Nib in 2010 for his book William Charles Wentworth: Australia’s Greatest Native Son. Of the 17 long-listed titles, 13 are by female authors.”

The award program covers four categories:

  • Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award- $20,000
  • Nib Military History Prize- $3000
  • Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize, (six prizes of $1000 each)
  • Nib People’s Choice Prize- $1000

The 2019 longlist see over:

  • An Unconventional Wife: the life of Julia Sorell Arnold – Mary Hoban (Scribe)
  • Imperfect: How our bodies shape the people we become - Lee Kofman (Affirm)
  • Reasonable Doubt: Spies, Police and the Croatian Six - Hamish McDonald
  • A Spanner in the works: the extraordinary story of Alice Anderson and Australia's first all-girl garage - Loretta Smith (Hachette)
  • Honeysuckle Creek: the Story of Tom Reid, a little dish and Neil Armstrong's first step - Andrew Tink (NewSouth Books)
  • No Friend but the Mountains: Writing from Manus Prison - Behrouz Boochani (Pan Macmillan)
  • City of Trees: Essays on Life, Death and the Need for a Forest — Sophie Cunningham (Text)
  • The World was Whole — Fiona Wright (Giramondo)
  • Her Mother’s Daughter: A memoir— Nadia Wheatley (Text)
  • The Arsonist — Chloe Hooper (Penguin)
  • Troll Hunting— Ginger Gorman (Hardie Grant)
  • What Will Be Worn: A McWhirters story — Melissa Fagan (Transit Lounge)
  • King of the Air - Ann Blainey (Black Inc)
  • Dr Space Junk vs The Universe: Archaeology and the future - Alice Gorman (NewSouth Books)
  • Steve Smith’s Men - Geoff Lemon (Hardie Grant)
  • Books that saved my life: Reading for Wisdom, Solace and Pleasure - Michael McGirr (Text)
  • Exploded View - Carrie Tiffany (Text)

The Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award is administered and presented annually by Waverley Council with the support of Principal Sponsors Mark and Evette Moran and the generous assistance of our community partners; Friends of Waverley Library (FOWL), Gertrude and Alice Bookshop and Cafe, Mark Moran Vaucluse and Bondi Junction, North Bondi, and Rose Bay RSL Sub-Branches.

Media Enquiries:                                        

Debbie McInnes, DMCPRmedia, 9550 9207