2023 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award shortlist announced

Monday 4 September

Waverley Council is thrilled to announce the shortlist for the 2023 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award, recognising excellence in research and quality literature.

Now in its 22nd year, the Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award has evolved into one of Australia’s most prestigious and respected literary awards. It remains the only award of its calibre to be presented by a Local Government, earning nation-wide recognition for its appreciation of compelling research-based Australian literature. The Nib Award’s independent, expert judging panel determines winners whose work best fulfills the criteria of high literary merit, quality research, readability and value to the community.

The shortlist was selected by the 2023 Award judges, poet Jamie Grant, writer Katerina Cosgrove, and publisher Julia Carlomagno. Each shortlisted author has been awarded with the Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize ($1,500) and are now finalists for the Nib People’s Choice Prize ($4,000) and the Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award ($40,000), to be announced 9 November 2023.

The 2023 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Award shortlist is:

  • An Intimate History of Evolution: The Story of the Huxley Family by Alison Bashford (Allen Lane)
  • Anam by André Dao (Hamish Hamilton)
  • Emperors in Lilliput by Jim Davidson (The Miegunyah Press)
  • The Age of Seeds by Fiona McMillian-Webster (Thames & Hudson Australia)
  • Life So Full of Promise: further biographies of Australia’s lost generation by Ross McMullin (Scribe Publications)
  • Shirley Hazzard: A Writing Life by Brigitta Olubas (Virago)

For over two decades, the Nib Award has distributed more than $500,000 directly to deserving authors. Previous winners include Tim Low, Helen Garner, Gideon Haigh, Clare Wright, and Delia Falconer.

Mayor of Waverley, Paula Masselos, said Waverley Council is proud of its long history of supporting quality Australian literature and is thrilled that Waverley presents one of the most respected and valuable literary awards in the country.  

“I would like to congratulate each our of respected finalists for sharing their unique voice and powerful stories from a unique Australian perspective,” Mayor Masselos said.  

“The shortlisted books were chosen from more than 230 nominations received this year from authors from across Australia, reinforcing the importance and gravitas of this award.

“I again wish to acknowledge and thank the award’s principal sponsors, Mark and Evette Moran, for their ongoing support of the Nib Award and the possibly life-changing opportunities it presents for our winning authors.

The People’s Choice Prize polling campaign is a fun way to lend your support to your favourite finalist, genre or author, helping them receive the reward and recognition they deserve. Voters are all placed in the running for a prize pack including a set of shortlisted books and a $100 voucher for Nib Community Partner Gertrude & Alice Bookstore café.

To vote, visit waverley.nsw.gov.au/nib

The Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award is administered by Waverley Council with the generous support of Principal Sponsors Mark and Evette Moran, and the ongoing commitment of community partner Gertrude and Alice Bookshop and Café.


Media inquiries: DMCPR Media T: 02 9550 9207 | E: debbie@dmcpr.com.au | M: 0412 818 071

Nib Award inquiries (excluding media): nibaward@waverley.nsw.gov.au