Call for entries for the 2018 Mark and Evette Moran NIB Literary Awards


1 May 2018

Nominations for the prestigious Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award, presented by Waverley Council, are now open. The Nib, now in its 17th year, is the only major national literary award to be offered by a local council, offering a prize pool of $30,000 across four categories.

The Nib recognises and celebrates quality research and writing across the country and encourages both emerging and established writers to submit works across all genres and subjects. Previous winners have included Helen Garner, Erik Jensen, Gideon Haigh, Mark Dapin and Tim Low.

This year’s award program covers four categories:

  • Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award $20,000
  • Nib Military History Prize, $3000
  • Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize, (six prizes of $1000 each)
  • Nib People’s Choice Prize, $1000

Nominations will be judged on the quality of research, literary merit, readability and value to the community.

The Mayor of Waverley, Councillor John Wakefield said the prize has a distinctive position in the national awards landscape and is the only major literary award presented by a local council.

“Our focus on rewarding excellent research means that we can often celebrate well-known Australian stories and authors, along with some really unexpected narratives and first-time writers,” Mayor Wakefield said.

“It means we can reward those very unique and remarkable books that are otherwise overlooked by larger awards,” Councillor Wakefield said.

Titles first published between 30 June 2017 and 1 July 2018 are eligible for this year’s award program. Full nomination guidelines and submission details: Nominations close Monday 2 July 2018.

The Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award is administered and presented annually by Waverley Council with the support of Principal Sponsors Mark and Evette Moran and the generous assistance of our community partners; Friends of Waverley Library (FOWL), Gertrude and Alice Bookshop and Cafe, Mark Moran Vaucluse and Bondi Junction, North Bondi, and Rose Bay RSL Sub-Branches. The Nib Award is proud to continue its association with the St Albans Writers Festival.