Bondi Beach

Bondi Beach is an established residential area, with some commercial areas along Hall Street, Campbell Parade and Glenayr Avenue. The Bondi Beach Precinct is bounded by Blair Street, Ramsgate Ave, the Pacific Ocean, Fletcher St, Dudley St, Bondi Rd, Denham St, Ormond St, Cox Ave and Glenayr Av. Please note boundary lines run through the middle of the street. Bondi Beach Precinct is part of Bondi Ward.

Bondi is named from an Aboriginal word meaning “sound of the waves breaking on the beach”.

Settlement of the area dates from 1809 when the first land grant was made. Growth was minimal until the late 1800s, when land was subdivided and sold. More substantial growth took place in the 1920s and 1930s as both permanent residents and holiday makers came to the area. Development resumed during the 1960s and 1970s. The population and dwelling stock have been relatively stable since the early 1990s.

Major features of the area include Bondi Beach, Bondi Pavilion Community Cultural Centre, Bondi Park, Bondi Baths, Bondi Icebergs Club, Thomas Hogan Reserve, Hunter Park and one school.

Meetings in 2023

All residents of the Precinct area are welcome to come along and be heard.

Face to face Precinct Committee meetings return

As per current Public Health Orders, in person Precinct Committee Meetings can resume. Please continue to check this page before each of your Precinct Committee Meetings as the location may change from time to time. 

Council encourages meeting participants to follow all current NSW Health advice relating to social distancing, vaccinations, rules and restrictions to stay COVID-safe.  If you are feeling unwell or displaying any symptoms, please stay at home.

Time:  7 - 9pm, Bondi Pavilion or via Zoom


  • Monday 6 February 2023 - This meeting will be face to face, in Bondi Pavilion's Yalagang Room.  
  • Monday 20 March 2023
  • Monday 5 June 2023
  • Monday 7 August 2023
  • Monday 9 October 2023
  • Monday 4 December 2023

Click links below for agendas, minutes, response reports


          Monday 6 February 2023

Click to view agendas and minutes from earlier years


Position: Co-Convenor
Name: Lenore Kulakauskas

Position: Co-Convenor
Name: Margaret Merten

Position: DA Representative
Name: Margaret Merten

Position: Committee Member
Name: Marilyn Tanner

Position: Heritage Officer
Name: Paul Paech