Bondi is an established residential area, with commercial areas along Bondi Road. The Bondi Precinct is bounded by Blair Street, Old South Head Road, Francis Street, Edward St, Denham St, Ormond St, Cox Ave and Glenayr Ave. Please note boundary lines run through the middle of the street. Bondi Precinct is part of Bondi Ward.

Bondi is named from an Aboriginal word meaning “sound of the waves breaking on the beach”.

Settlement of the area dates from 1809 when the first land grant was made. Growth was minimal until the late 1800s when land was subdivided and sold. More substantial growth took place in the 1920s and 1930s as both permanent residents and holiday makers came to the area. Development resumed during the 1960s and 1970s. The population declined slightly during the 1990s, and then was relatively stable between 2001 and 2006, a result of little change in dwelling stock.

Major features of the area include Dickson Park, Waverley Woollahra Arts Centre and a number of schools.

Meetings in 2023

All residents of the Precinct area are welcome to come along and be heard.

Time: 7 - 9pm, venue TBA (or via zoom)


  • Wednesday 21 June 2023 - Online via Zoom. if you would like to participate in the meeting, please email to register and receive your zoom link.
  • Wednesday 23 August 2023
  • Wednesday 1 November 2023


          Wednesday 21 June 2023
          Wednesday 19 April 2023
          Wednesday 15 February 2023

Response Reports

          February 2023


          Wednesday 15 February 2023

Click to view agendas and minutes from earlier years


Position: Co-Convener
Name: Di Robinson

Position: Co-Convener
Name: Lynne Cossar

Position: Secretary
Name: Vacant

Position: DA representative
Name: Annie Parnell

Position: Sustainability & the Arts
Name: Rex Walsh

Position: Traffic & Heritage
Name: Jennifer Arnold

Position: Executive Committee Member
Name: Gabrielle Tobias