Judging criteria & eligibility

Judging Criteria

The ‘Best of the Best’ award recognises individuals who have:

  • Demonstrated a significant and lasting contribution to the community over an extended and significant period of time (for example 20 years of community service)
  • Made a positive impact on the community.
  • Earned recognition by other groups, and the respect of peers.
  • Exhibited leadership and provided inspiration to others.
  • Live or lived in Waverley while contributing to community.


  • All nominees must be Waverley Local Government area residents, or have lived in Waverley when they volunteered their services.
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted.
  • Awards may be granted posthumously to those that have passed away within the last four years.
  • Nominees must be over the age of 18 years.
  • Current serving Waverley Councillors and full time Council staff are not eligible.
  • Sitting State and Federal Politicians and current Vice-Regal Officers are not eligible.
  • Unsuccessful nominations may be nominated again in subsequent years.


  • Nominations will remain confidential and only award recipients will be publicly announced.
  • All nominees will receive confirmation of receipt of application and notice if they have been successful or not.