2014 News

Thu, 18 Dec 2014- New education campaign helps keep our parks and beaches alcohol free
Waverley Council has thrown its support behind a new education campaign that aims to remind people that our local beaches and parks are alcohol free.

Wed, 17 Dec 2014- Bondi Beach wins top gong at NSW Clean Beaches Awards
Waverley Mayor Sally Betts says she’s delighted to have won this year’s Overall Clean Beach award at the Keep NSW Clean Beaches Awards.

Thu, 27 Nov 2014- Don't play renovation roulette - Asbestos Awareness day

Don't play renovation roulette - that's the message for homeowners, renovators, tradies and handymen today on Asbestos Awareness Day.

Thu, 27 Nov 2014- Judges and public agree on this year’s Nib: Waverley Library Award for Literature

Melbourne author Clare Wright has won Waverley Council’s prestigious $20,000 Literary Prize and the People’s Choice Award, for her wonderful history of the women of Ballarat, the Forgotten Rebels of Eureka.

Fri, 07 Nov 2014- Easts Group withdraw planning proposal for Waverley Bowling Club
The Easts Group has today withdrawn its planning proposal to rezone the Waverley Bowling Club site on Birrell Street, Waverley.

Thu, 30 Oct 2014- Waverley's brightest and best businesses acknowledged

Waverley's brightest and best businesses were acknowledged at a gala dinner on Monday night at Easts Leagues Club.

Tue, 28 Oct 2014- Bondi Junction: heartbeat of the East

Mon, 20 Oct 2014- Dog owners reminded to pick up along the coastal walk

Mon, 29 Sep 2014- Memorial unveiled in memory of Babi Yar holocaust massacre
Yesterday was a sombre occasion for the local Jewish community, with a new memorial unveiled in Waverley Park to remember thousands of Jewish victims killed as part of the Holocaust in Babi Yar, Ukraine.

Tue, 23 Sep 2014- Diamond Bay take out the coveted Mayoral Cup
Diamond Bay Bowling Club took out the 2014 Mayoral Bowls Cup, narrowly pipping Waverley Bowling Club and hosts Bronte Bowling Club at the end of a tight tournament on Sunday.

Fri, 19 Sep 2014- Cr Sally Betts re-elected as Mayor
Congratulations to Cr Sally Betts, who was last night re-elected as Mayor of Waverley.

Fri, 12 Sep 2014- Name the future of Bondi Junction
Have you seen or heard about the projects we’ve been working on in Bondi Junction?

Thu, 11 Sep 2014- Waverley welcomes State Government's Fit for the Future package
Waverley Mayor Sally Betts has welcomed the NSW Government’s response to the Independent Local Government Review Panel and its $1 billion Fit for the Future reform package.

Thu, 04 Sep 2014- Council’s planning proposal approved for Bronte RSL site
The State Government yesterday gazetted Council's planning proposal for the Bronte RSL site after comprehensive joint lobbying by Council, the community and the Save Bronte Group, and Member for Coogee, Bruce Notley-Smith MP.

Mon, 11 Aug 2014- Bondi Park, Beach and Pavilion Draft Plan of Management
Thank you to everyone who has provided feedback and comment throughout this consultation process and for coming together to continue to keep Bondi Beach, Park and Pavilion one of the most beautiful places in the world.

Mon, 28 Jul 2014- Brightest & Best Business Awards nominations
2014 Brightest and Best Business Awards nomination are now closed. Thank you to all who entered.

Mon, 21 Jul 2014- City2Surf 2014 road closures and clearways
Road closures and special event clearways will be in place throughout the Sydney CBD and the Eastern Suburbs on Sunday 10 August 2014 for the annual City2Surf.

Thu, 10 Jul 2014- Council properties going solar
Work has started this week to roll out solar power systems across four Council sites including Gardiner Early Education Centre, Bondi Beach Early Childhood Health Centre, Bronte Early Education Centre and Waverley Early Education Centre.

Fri, 04 Jul 2014- Waverley War Memorials get a facelift
Refurbishment works kicked off this week to give Waverley Park's World War I and World War II war memorials a bit of a facelift.

Tue, 10 Jun 2014- New entry and exit for Eastgate Car Park
Entering and exiting Eastgate Car Park in Bondi Junction will be made quicker and easier, with works to install a new entry and exit about to get underway.
 

Thu, 29 May 2014- Cancellation of Tuesday 3 June Operations Committee Meeting
Please be advised that the Operations Committee meeting scheduled for Tuesday 3 June 2014 has been cancelled due to insufficient business.

Tue, 27 May 2014- South Bondi Toilet Block set for upgrade
The toilet block at South Bondi is set for major improvements in the coming months, with works almost ready to start on refurbishing the interior and exterior of the building.

Tue, 13 May 2014- Waverley Public School gets behind Ride2School Day
Waverley Public School are the proud owners of a new scooter pack, presented to them at the school's Friday assembly by Cr Angel Burrill for their fantastic participation in this year's Ride2School Day.

Tue, 06 May 2014- Bondi Beach Public School gets serious about active travel
There were some excited students at Bondi Beach Public School yesterday when Cr Joy Clayton presented the school with a brand new scooter pack for their participation in this year's Ride2School Day.

Thu, 01 May 2014- Awards recognise high quality design and heritage in Waverley
The 2014 Waverley Heritage & Design Awards were held on Wednesday 30 April, recognising high quality urban design and heritage conservation in Waverley.

Thu, 10 Apr 2014- Waverley Historical Society showcases 'The Journey of Edina, the Friary and Church'
Mayor Sally Betts was on hand to help officially open the Waverley Historical Society's new exhibition, 'The Journeys of Edina, the Friary and Church', at Waverley Library last Friday 3 April.

Thu, 27 Mar 2014- Waverley Business Forum, Monday 7 April
The first Waverley Business Forum of the year will be held at Council Chambers on Monday 7 April

Thu, 27 Feb 2014- West Oxford Street Precinct Plan - community drop-in session
Discuss your ideas for the future of the western end of Oxford Street, Bondi Junction and the surrounding area at our 'Ideas in the Park' community drop-in session, next Saturday 8 March in St James Reserve between 11am and 1pm.

Tue, 04 Feb 2014- Council expands online e-Certificates system
Council has recently expanded its online e-Certificates system, making the application for planning and other Certificates quicker and easier.

Fri, 17 Jan 2014- Australia Day 2014 - temporary traffic changes in Bronte
Australia Day is the single busiest day of the year, and temporary traffic changes will once again be in place along Bronte Road on Sunday 26 January 2014.