Housing Advisory Committee

What does this Committee do?

The Committee provides strategic advice to Council on the management of its affordable and social housing programs. Waverley Council began its housing programs in the early 1990s in an effort to maintain diversity in the Waverley community. Today there are about 100 properties in the two programs, available to tenants on low to moderate incomes.

To secure its housing programs for the future and enable their continued growth, Council seeks to ensure that the types of properties in the programs match community needs, and that the portfolio is managed efficiently and effectively for long term financial sustainability and positive policy outcomes.

How often does the Committee meet?

The Committee meets three times a year in April, July and October.

Who attends the meetings?

The Committee consists of the Mayor or Mayor’s nominee, and three appointed Councillors; and up to 6 Community Members who are appointed by Council. Council advertises for community members who can demonstrate a connection to the Waverley area, and expertise in affordable and social rental housing, housing development and finance, housing asset management, or property and tenancy management. A Term for community members is two years, and the current Term began in March 2010.

Current Committee members are:


Sally Betts (Chair)
Joy Clayton
John Wakefield
Prue Cancian

Community Members

Brian Kirk
Matthew Fisher
Bev Martin
Donna McCairn
Sally-Anne Lyster

Meeting dates for 2010

29 April
22 July
21 October

To contact the Committee

Call Leisa Simmons on 9083 7912 or leisas@waverley.nsw.gov.au

Related Links

Connect with us