Waverley Heritage & Design Awards

Nominations have closed and the Awards will be presented on Monday, 29th April 2019. Waverley Council extends its thanks and appreciation to everyone who submitted a nomination and contributed to Waverley’s heritage and built environment. If you have questions or would like more information, please email heritagedesignawards@waverley.nsw.gov.au

First held in 2006, the Awards initially promoted Waverley's rich heritage through acknowledging projects which conserved, maintained and adapted heritage listed places. The Awards subsequently evolved to recognise excellence in contemporary design. They have attracted more than 140 submissions over the ten years with 28 winners and eight commendations.

The Awards acknowledge the building works, special accomplishments, projects and efforts which have furthered the goal of excellence in design and heritage conservation in Waverley. They recognise excellence and inspire better building design by promoting community awareness and acknowledging the architects and designers involved in enhancing distinctive character. The Awards have had a positive impact on the design standard, products and sustainability of environment.

The winners will be announced at the Awards night on 29th April 2019 which will be followed by an exhibition of the nominations and winning entries at the Waverley Library Gallery, 2 May – 23 May 2019 as part of the Australian Heritage Festival.

Awards and Judging Criteria

Awards Categories:

  • Contemporary Design: Any contemporary project or study, including the design of public places.
  • Heritage: Any built heritage conservation project or study, or any adaptive reuse of a heritage structure.

In general, the following criteria has been applied to assessing the Awards submission:

  • Response to category: Underlying principles and core ideas.
  • People: Innovation in design that satisfies the functions and needs of today.
  • Place: Excellence in creating places in a manner that responds to and enhances the significance of Waverley.
  • Product: Excellence in design and sustainability.

Questions? heritagedesignawards@waverley.nsw.gov.au or contact lisa.sturis@waverley.nsw.gov.au / 9083 8325.

" "

Need planning advice?

Contact Council's Duty Planner:

  • Phone 9083 8484
  • Visit in person at our Customer Service Centre, 55 Spring Street, Bondi Junction
  • Monday to Friday, 8:30am - 1pm and 2pm - 4pm